If I Died Today

Sometimes I wonder

What would happen if I died?

At times I want to know

Who would cry?

Who would grieve?

Who would comfort with kind lies,

And who would comfort with harsh truths?

 

Sometimes I wonder

What would happen if I died?

I want to believe

That people would cry

And grieve, telling others

Kind lies: ‘she will always be with us’

Or harsh truths: ‘She’s gone, you can’t help her.’

 

Sometimes I wonder

What would happen if I died?

I feel the need to know

Who would care?

If anyone would

Who would be there to share my life?

To tell what I did, whom I loved, and what I believed.

 

Sometimes I wonder

What would happen if I died?

Some people would grieve

Some people would cry.

But do we ever ask

What would happen if death were a lie?Image

Leave a Reply

